Sandra,Bandra or Chandigarh…Len still rules.

Hockey Bandra go down to BPCL 1-3 to be ousted from Gold Cup  
Mumbai, April 20: HOCKEY Bandra’s winning run came to an abrupt end when the local outfit went down 1-3 to Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. during a third round clash of the 44th edition of the Bombay Gold Cup at the BHA-Mahindra Stadium, Churchgate, on Thursday.

BPCL surged ahead through a Len Aiyappa short corner that thudded into the post in the fifth minute before Prabhdeep Singh swelled the lead in the 15th.
After the change of ends, Aiyappa found the target yet again with a crisp short corner conversion in the 38th minute to seal it in his team’s favour. Vikram Pillay then scored a consolation goal four minutes from time.

In a match played later in the day, Western Railway after conceding a sixth minute goal against Punjab State Electricity Board, hammered half a dozen against their rivals to advance to the next round. The teams went into the breather tied at one goal apiece.

The match between Bhopal XI and Chandigarh XI had to be decided on strokes after the stipulated 70 minutes failed to decide a winner. The teams were tied 2-2.

Results: BPCL 3 (Len Aiyappa 2, Prabhdeep Singh) bt Hockey Bandra 1 (Vikram Pillay); Westerna Railway 6 (K Chandrakesh 2, Amarjeet Singh 2, Hardeep Singh, Shakti Thakur) bt PSEB 1 (Kuljit Singh); Bhpoal XI 7 (Vejay, Syed Faisal Ali, Altaf-ur-Rahman Rajesh Guleria, Mehrajuddin, Irfan Ali, Asad Kamal) bt Chandigarh XI 5 (Satibir Singh 2, Gaurav Tokhi, Vishal Lal, Amit Bhargav) via the tie-breaker.

Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments